Lit Up Gala

Save the Date!

What do you get when you combine inspiring poetry and prose performances with a great cocktail party? Lit Up, of course! We hope you can join us for GrubStreet’s annual narrative arts gala. In doing so, you will not only enjoy a night of writer performances and bookish fun, but also support literary access for writers of all ages, backgrounds, and incomes. Last year, individuals like you helped raise over $100,000 to provide scholarships as well as subsidized workshops to teen and adult writers in low-income communities. With you in attendance this year, even more writers will have access to the mentorship and support they need to develop their craft and share their stories.

This Year's Grubby Award Winner

Clint Smith is a writer, teacher, scholar, and the author of COUNTING DESCENT, winner of the 2017 Literary Award for Best Poetry Book from the Black Caucus of the American Library Association. He was a 2014 National Poetry Slam champion and named to the 2018 Forbes 30 Under 30 list. His TED Talks, THE DANGER OF SILENCE and HOW TO RAISE A BLACK SON IN AMERICA, collectively have been viewed more than 6 million times.

Thank you for helping us celebrate GrubStreet’s 20th Anniversary last year!

With nearly 300 generous Grubbies in attendance, last year's Lit Up gala brought together nearly 300 guests for stunning author performances and raised $108,070 toward scholarships and free creative writing workshops. 

More than ever, stories matter. Narrative has the power to build bridges and develop empathy, especially in times of division. With support from individuals like you, writers from all communities can receive the rigorous and supportive craft classes they need to develop and share their stories. Thanks to your generosity, GrubStreet awarded scholarships to nearly 300 students in 2017, more than we've ever funded before. These funds also supported accessible programming such as Write Down the Street, a community-based program that provides free creative writing workshops at local Boston Public Library branches in Roxbury, Dorchester, and Mattapan.

Thank you for helping GrubStreet celebrate its 20th anniversary year and continue to make its programming available to all writers, regardless of their income or background.

Are you interested in hosting or sponsoring Lit Up?

Check out our sponsorship opportunities from 2017 and contact for more information.

Tickets to the 2018 Lit Up will be available in August. Check back soon!

No tickets available at the moment.