GrubWrites

ARCHIVE FOR Maura Intemann

Novel Incubator Alum Elizabeth Chiles Shelburne Launches Debut!

grubstreet Image

Novel Incubator alum Elizabeth Chiles Shelburne will launch her debut novel this Thursday, October 24th at 7pm at Harvard Book Store. Join her for discussion of her novel Holding On To Nothing, a present-day Appalachian story in the tradition of Lee Smith, Silas House, and Ron Rash, cast without sentiment or cliché, but with a genuine and profound understanding of the place and its people.

Maura Intemann

Grub News

Writer Idol: Boston Book Festival 2019

grubstreet Image

Don't miss another year of Writer Idol at Boston Book Festival 2019!


Join us on Saturday, October 19th at 10:15-11:30am and have writer/comedian Steve Macone perform the first page of YOUR unpublished manuscript for a panel of three established agent judges who specialize in literary and commercial fiction as well as narrative nonfiction: Sorche Fairbank (Fairbank Literary), Kimiko Nakamura (Dee Mura Literary), Beth Marshea (Ladderbird Literary Agency), and Serene Hakim (Ayesha Pande Literary).


When an agent hears a line that would prompt her to stop reading, she ...

Maura Intemann

Grub News

Boston Book Fest 2019

grubstreet Image

GrubStreet is returning for another year at the Boston Book Festival! Come celebrate the power of words and Boston's vibrant literary community with us on October 19th in Copley Square and October 20th in Roxbury. 

See the full schedule here

Maura Intemann

Grub News

October 2019 Top Picks: Opportunities for Writers

grubstreet Image

The October 2019 edition of "Writing Life Essentials," a monthly hand-curated list of contests, grants, scholarships, submissions calls, and awards, with a focus on opportunities that are at least one of the following: local, free to apply, and/or committed to celebrating and supporting writers from historically marginalized communities. We do the research, so you have more time for what matters: the writing. Or, slaying zombies. That matters too.

Maura Intemann

Grub News The Writing Life

Lit Boston: What's Happening in October?

grubstreet Image

In the October 2019 edition of "Best of Boston," we bring you our top Boston lit events this month, curated from the Boston Literary District's event calendar, an essential source of literary happenings.


Rekindle Your Craft: A Prompt-Writing Night

Maura Intemann

Grub News