GrubWrites

Novel Incubator Alum Elizabeth Chiles Shelburne Launches Debut!

grubstreet Image

Novel Incubator alum Elizabeth Chiles Shelburne will launch her debut novel this Thursday, October 24th at 7pm at Harvard Book Store. Join her for discussion of her novel Holding On To Nothing, a present-day Appalachian story in the tradition of Lee Smith, Silas House, and Ron Rash, cast without sentiment or cliché, but with a genuine and profound understanding of the place and its people.

Maura Intemann

Grub News

October 2019 Top Picks: Opportunities for Writers

grubstreet Image

The October 2019 edition of "Writing Life Essentials," a monthly hand-curated list of contests, grants, scholarships, submissions calls, and awards, with a focus on opportunities that are at least one of the following: local, free to apply, and/or committed to celebrating and supporting writers from historically marginalized communities. We do the research, so you have more time for what matters: the writing. Or, slaying zombies. That matters too.

Maura Intemann

Grub News The Writing Life

Ten Writing Rules That Will Improve Your Life

grubstreet Image

Stick to a daily word count. Take more writing classes. Write twenty more queries. Yada Yada. What are the writing resolutions that are really important in terms of achieving success and having a reasonably satisfying work life?

Here are ten "rules" I try hard to live by when it comes to my writing. They don't all come naturally, but I strive to remember them, especially when I'm struggling.

Katrin Schumann

Books & Reading Craft Advice The Workshop The Writing Life

September 2019 Top Picks: Opportunities for Writers

grubstreet Image

The September 2019 edition of "Writing Life Essentials," a monthly hand-curated list of contests, grants, scholarships, submissions calls, and awards, with a focus on opportunities that are at least one of the following: local, free to apply, and/or committed to celebrating and supporting writers from historically marginalized communities. We do the research, so you have more time for what matters: the writing

Maura Intemann

The Writing Life